top of page
Writer's pictureHema V

To A Laugh

A poem about a fickle friend.



Why does your incoherent sound bring a smile? Why does so pure sound this loud whisper from the depth of throat? A tune unsung by the finest musicians; I know you not, yet call you an apparent giggle or gloat. Why can my lips not suppress your tantrums? And why do you leave me be when tears befall? Why does the solemn one long for your hollow tunes- Tunes somehow desirable, unlike the hungry child’s brawl.

Perhaps a friend you may be to the sultry summer night, But to a stranger staring into the flames, clad in ashen white- Ashen as his face, he thinks himself daft To trust his fickle friend- the laugh.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Who is the one to talk?

Crimson, Comparison and Contentment. All in a raindrop. The rain clouds seemed to be taking out all the anger they’d collected over a...

Acceptance

A slo-mo write-up. The slightly disturbing yet familiar smell of charred wood invaded my nostrils, as my feet sunk ever so slightly into...

Bottled Thoughts

Are beauty and fragility one and the same? The other day, I had been patiently chewing away at a toffee in my mouth; its caramel caress...

Commenti


bottom of page